Meet Diego Cossio.

We sat down with the shy and very humble Diego Cossio and learned a few surprises about this polo star.

How did you get your start?
I started playing in 1996 in the US.  I played for 10 years under the famous Steve Crowder.  He’s a good man and I owe him a lot.

Where do you play now?
San Diego of course, but I love playing in Calgary and Florida.


Do you do any cross-training?
I swim and play soccer.  After injuries, I lift weights.

Oh really?
Don’t put that.

What is your favorite sport to watch?
Ice hockey because it’s similar to polo in that the key is following the ball and pushing players out of the way.  Soccer too.

What about when you want to veg out?
Veg out?  Family Guy.  It’s light hearted and easy to watch.  The stuff they get away with is crazy.

Favorite movie?
Horror definitely.  The Exorcist.

Favorite book?
Wow.  It’s been a while.  The Alchemist – it’s simple but the ending is very good.

Can you play any instruments?
I’m actually an accomplished musician, you didn’t know that?  I’ve been playing guitar for a few years, self taught.

Diego and his band performing at Crash and Burn 2010.

So, what’s on your iPod?
Slayer, Rob Zombie, Alice in Chains, Pantera.

Anything in spanish?
Oh yea, Hermetica!  They are a really good heavy metal band in Argentina.

What’s a typical meal?
Meat.  If I can eat steak 3-4 times a week, I’m happy.

Any exciting news?
I’m taking a trip to Europe with my girlfriend, just for fun.  We are leaving Colton behind for a couple of days.  We don’t have plans, just a wedding to attend in Scotland, then backpack around for a bit.

Stacy and Colton, Diego’s family.

Sounds fun.  What are your plans for the future?
I’d like to continue playing polo for a few years.  Eventually, I would want to go back to farming sugar cane – I grew up doing it.  I just really love the whole process.

If you could take a trip anywhere in the world, where would you go?
Home – Tucumán Province, Argentina (known internationally for its sugarcane).