Meet Jared Sheldon.

SD Polo: Where are you from and how did you get involved in polo?
Jared: Poway, CA.  My family plays polo so I was on a horse pretty much from birth. I didn’t start playing with adults until I was seven.  My dad’s side of the family is very involved in polo. My grandfather Russ Sheldon is currently rerunning for Governor at Large (of the USPA). My father, Billy Sheldon is 7 goals in the arena and has represented the USA in the FIPS and in the arena. My cousins Shane and Danika Rice are currently working in polo in Houston and their mother Sherry Sheldon also plays.

SD Polo: What did you do before you became pro?  What do you do in the off-season?
Jared:  Before Polo I attended New Mexico State University where I played on the intercollegiate team there. On the off seasons I manage the Bel Air Polo Club, located in Burbank, CA which is open year round.

SD Polo: Where have you played and what is your favorite place to play?
Jared:  I have mostly played on the California Circuit, (Santa Barbara, Indio, San Diego) but I have also been lucky enough to go to clubs in Florida, Canada, Texas, and a few other East Coast locations.  Santa Barbara is my favorite place to play because it has the best mix of quality polo and quality fields. It definitely doesn’t hurt that its across the street from the beach.

SD Polo: Have you ever had a bad injury?
Jared:  I have had a few good injuries. I broke my orbital bone (eye socket) back in 2006 and in Santa Barbara this season I broke my collar bone. Luckily I was able to get a plate put in so I could be back in time to play here (in San Diego).

SD Polo: Is there any technique to falling off the horse?
Jared: Tuck and Roll, and try not to get run over, I guess.

SD Polo:  What do you do when you’re not playing polo or spending time with the horses?
Jared: Playing XBox with friends, hitting the gym, and taking my girlfriend and our two dogs to the beach.  I love mexican food too, especially if its from the Poway Taco Shop on Midland road.

SD Polo:  What does the future hold?
Jared: I’d love to go to Europe and catch an Arsenal game or travel to Argentina.  Hopefully my life involves polo, polo, and more polo.

Leave a Reply

